Daisy Badge/Award Holders- A “Beyond the Ziploc” Idea

It’s December, and many troops may be planning a Court of Awards ceremony as part of their holiday festivities. There is a thread on the Greenblood Yahoo Group that gets revived every now and again for ideas to present the girls with their badges and other awards that’s a bit more exciting then the ziploc bag with their name on it. This is the quick and easy way that I gave my girls their pins and badges at our fall Investiture and Rededication Ceremony. With the help of my Cricut, I had this project for 15 done in less than an hour.

Here are the step-by-step instructions. First off, here are the supplies you’ll need:

  • Cardstock- I used white, yellow, and green
  • 1/8″-1/4″ wooden dowels- I bought these at Lowe’s. I used dowels (1/4″ thick) in the spring when we made pinwheels as part of the Movers Try-it. They come as 4 foot lengths and the staff are great about trimming them down to the size you need. However, these dowels are thin enough that you can clip them to size (12″-15″) with pruning shears.
  • Adhesive (my go-to dry adhesive is Tombow Monoadhesive), Glue Dots for adhering badges and patches

I also used the Plantin Schoolbook cartridge that came with my Cricut Expression, and used the 6-petal flower (5 1/2″ size so 4 could be cut from one sheet of cardstock), the leaf, and the circle (1 1/2″-2″- a circle punch also works for this). I don’t think having a Cricut for this project is a deal-breaker, just a nice time saver. Fortunately, flowers and simple leaves are fairly easy to freehand draw and cut out.

A) After cutting my shapes, I took the flowers and cut 2 parallel lines (about 1/2″ wide), one on either side of the center hole (part of my flower shape automatically).

B) I used those cutlines to thread the dowel on the back side of the flower. You can hold the dowel in place with a spot of adhesive or a glue dot.

C) After securing the dowel, I turned the flower over and adhered the flower center. I used the center for her Brownie pin if she was being invested, and the 100th Anniversary pin is she was rededicating. The tack held nicely using the 1/8″ dowel rod (D). The tack might not hold as well when using a 1/4″ dowel, but the wider dowel is not an issue if you’re using the center for a Promise Center (Daisies) or another patch.

E) Next is attaching the leaves. The Cricut leaf has a little bit of a stem, which was perfect for adding adhesive and wrapping around the dowel rod, and attaching to the back of the leaf (F). I varied the location of the leaf on the dowel, and I also varied whether they were on the left or the right to distribute the “bulk” when I put them in my vase.

We hand out awards and badges as we earn them, so I didn’t have a large collection of new things to hand out. Rather, I wrote the names of the things that they earned during the early fall on the petals.

That’s it! Super easy, right? The daisies were such a hit with the girls- they were an instant keepsake! It made it so worth the extra bit of effort.

Happy crafting, everyone!

Kim

3 thoughts on “Daisy Badge/Award Holders- A “Beyond the Ziploc” Idea

  1. Love these Daisy Badge/Award holders. I have the end of my first year coming up and we do a big ceremony with all the troops at the school. I think these are adorable, but one question, how did you attach the patches? Just regular Elmer’s Glue? Thanks

    • Thanks so much! I used Glue Dots (Craft) to attach the badges- 2-3 are strong enough to keep them there for the ceremony, yet are simple enough to remove when you’re ready to attach those patches to her vest. Good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

